Tags

DUA FOR LONGEVITY

Sayyid Ibn Tawus, through a valid chain of authority, has reported the following incident from Jamil ibn Darraj:

A man visited Imam al-Sadiq(a.s.) and said, “My master, I have become old aged, my relatives have all died, and I fear lest death will come upon me while I have no one to entertain me and to whom I may refer.”

The Imam (a.s.) answered, “Some of your brothers-in-faith are closer to you than relatives and you can find with them entertainment more pleasant that that which you may find with your relatives. However, if you wish that you and your relatives will live longer, you must say the following supplicatory prayer after each ritual prayer:

اَللّهُمَّ صَلِّ عَلى مُحَمَّدٍ وَآلِ مُحَمَّدٍ اَللّهُمَّ اِنَّ رَسُولَكَ الصّادِقَ الْمُصَدَّقَ صَلَواتُكَ عَلَيْهِ وَآلِهِ قالَ اِنَّكَ قُلْتَ ما تَرَدَّدْتُ فى شَىْءٍ اَ نَا فاعِلُهُ كَتَرَدُّدى فى قَبْضِ رُوحِ عَبْدِىَ الْمُؤْمِنِ يَكْرَهُ الْمَوْتَ وَاَكْرَهُ مَسآئَتَهُ اَللّهُمَّ فَصَلِّ عَلى مُحَمَّدٍ وَآلِ مُحَمَّدٍ وَعَجَّلْ لِوَلِيِّكَ الْفَرَجَ وَالْعافِيَةَ وَالنَّصْرَ وَلا تَسُؤْنى فى نَفْسى وَلا فى اَحَدٍ مِنْ اَحِبَّتى

If you wish, you may mention the persons you love by names.”

The old man thereafter said, “By Allah I take the oath, I lived for such a long time until I became bored of life.”

This ultimately considerable supplicatory prayer is mentioned in all books of supplications.

